December 16, 2017, 03:16:48 AM

Author Topic: Risers?  (Read 40965 times)

joshs1982

  • Infected
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Risers?
« on: October 08, 2014, 10:08:33 PM »
Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong? I've been reading all the tut's but they all seem to say I have it wright. Unless start_zone should open to zone1 and zone2 not zone4 and zone1 but IDK.

I have risers in my start_zone and they work but when I make risers for another zone they don't work. The next zone I walk into is zone4 or zone1. I'm trying to add risers to zone4.

Script_struct kvp's

targetname | zone4_spawners_rise
script_noteworthy | find_flesh

Volume kvp's

target | zone4_spawners
targetname | zone4

Spawner kvp's

script_noteworthy | zombie_spawner
count | 9999
script_forcespawn | 1
spawnflags | 3
export | 26

My door targets zone4_spawners. The regular spwners work fine just not the risers for zone4.

I just thought of something should my start_zone open into zone1 for both doors, I have to doors to choose from in start_zone.

This is from my_map_name .gsc
Code: [Select]
dlc3_zone_init()
{

add_adjacent_zone( "initial_zone", "zone1", "enter_zone1" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone2", "enter_zone2" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone2", "zone3", "enter_zone3" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone3", "zone4", "enter_zone4" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone4", "zone5", "enter_zone5" );
/*
=============
///ScriptDocBegin
"Name: add_adjacent_zone( <zone_1>, <zone_2>, <flag>, <one_way> )"
"Summary: Sets up adjacent zones."
"MandatoryArg: <zone_1>: Name of first Info_Volume"
"MandatoryArg: <zone_2>: Name of second Info_Volume"
"MandatoryArg: <flag>: Flag to be set to initiate zones"
"OptionalArg: <one_way>: Make <zone_1> adjacent to <zone_2>. Defaults to false."
"Example: add_adjacent_zone( "receiver_zone", "outside_east_zone", "enter_outside_east" );"
///ScriptDocEnd
=============
*/

// Outside East Door
//add_adjacent_zone( "receiver_zone", "outside_east_zone", "enter_outside_east" );
}

« Last Edit: October 08, 2014, 10:27:13 PM by joshs1982 »

WinCat

  • Founder
  • ***
  • Posts: 1094
  • Karma: 86
    • View Profile
    • My Site
Re: Risers?
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2014, 11:29:09 PM »
Why is your door targeting spawners?

And what's your door's kvps?

joshs1982

  • Infected
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Risers?
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2014, 02:15:38 PM »
Why is your door targeting spawners?

And what's your door's kvps?
All of my doors/debris target the spawners associated with the zone the door enters. All my zombies that break down windows work fine.

My door kvp's

target | zone4_spawners
script_noteworthy | jiggle
script_fxid | large_ceiling_dust
targetname | door1
spawnflags | 1
script_linkto | 1
classname | script_brushmodel

Nukem

  • Hooker
  • *
  • Posts: 130
  • Karma: 22
  • TMG http://tmg-nukem.blogspot.co.uk/
    • View Profile
Re: Risers?
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2014, 05:31:38 PM »
This is the correct set up

Door/blocker


Trigger



Zone



Spawners



Script struct Riser



GSC 

Code: [Select]
dlc3_zone_init()
{

add_adjacent_zone( "start_zone", "zone1", "enter_zone1" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone2", "enter_zone2" ,true );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone3", "enter_zone3" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone3", "zone4", "enter_zone4" );
        add_adjacent_zone( "zone4", "zone5", "enter_zone5" );
        add_adjacent_zone( "zone5", "zone6", "enter_zone6" );

     // one way flags
     // add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone2", "enter_zone2",true );
     //  this "true" is a one way flag can be set for zones with only one way in and out
    //  ascension the zone with the lander by stamina up would have a one way flag
    //  always back hand a hooker after sex must have that "pimp crack" sound or your not doing it correct
}

you can see i have zone 1 going to zone 2 and zone 3 so this is how you set it up (now i would need to know all of your map layout to set up the zones this is just and example

Your code has
Code: [Select]
add_adjacent_zone( "initial_zone", "zone1", "enter_zone1" );
change to
Code: [Select]
add_adjacent_zone( "start_zone", "zone1", "enter_zone1" );
and make sure in the main function it has
Code: [Select]
zones = [];
zones[ zones.size ] = "start_zone";

so the zonename matches the spawners and the code 
« Last Edit: October 09, 2014, 05:47:53 PM by Nukem »

WinCat

  • Founder
  • ***
  • Posts: 1094
  • Karma: 86
    • View Profile
    • My Site
Re: Risers?
« Reply #4 on: October 09, 2014, 07:28:14 PM »
Why is your door targeting spawners?

And what's your door's kvps?
All of my doors/debris target the spawners associated with the zone the door enters. All my zombies that break down windows work fine.

umm why? that's not how 1.4 works.

joshs1982

  • Infected
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Risers?
« Reply #5 on: October 09, 2014, 07:40:32 PM »
I'm going to draw you a plan of the bottom floor. This where I start at. I have one posted in just a few.

WinCat

  • Founder
  • ***
  • Posts: 1094
  • Karma: 86
    • View Profile
    • My Site
Re: Risers?
« Reply #6 on: October 09, 2014, 07:50:56 PM »
Doors would connect to spawners in 1.1, but when using zones they don't.

The zones target the spawners.

Then the door trigger just has a kvp to activate the zone, the door dose not target any spawners.

joshs1982

  • Infected
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Risers?
« Reply #7 on: October 09, 2014, 08:42:11 PM »
Sent you a zone map of my basement in a PM.

joshs1982

  • Infected
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Risers?
« Reply #8 on: October 09, 2014, 08:46:22 PM »
Doors would connect to spawners in 1.1, but when using zones they don't.

The zones target the spawners.

Then the door trigger just has a kvp to activate the zone, the door dose not target any spawners.
Lol, I've been doing this all wrong. :-[
My map is good size but once I get this wright I'll be able to make it all work. Now I'm understanding more. I guess the person that was helping me was telling me the old way. WOW!

WinCat

  • Founder
  • ***
  • Posts: 1094
  • Karma: 86
    • View Profile
    • My Site
Re: Risers?
« Reply #9 on: October 09, 2014, 09:05:59 PM »
Sent you a zone map of my basement in a PM.

okay  ;)

joshs1982

  • Infected
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Risers?
« Reply #10 on: October 09, 2014, 09:10:27 PM »
Make the stairwell leaving from zone1, zone8 and make the stairwell leaving zone4, zone7. Now that we have changed that, do you think this code is looking good, or am I lost again?

Here's the code I'm working on below.

Code: [Select]
dlc3_zone_init()
{

add_adjacent_zone( "start_zone", "zone1", "enter_zone1" );
add_adjacent_zone( "start_zone", "zone4", "enter_zone4" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone2", "enter_zone2" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone3", "enter_zone3" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone6", "enter_zone6" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone8", "enter_zone8" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone2", "zone3", "enter_zone3" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone3", "zone2", "enter_zone2" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone4", "zone5", "enter_zone5" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone4", "zone7", "enter_zone7" );
/*
=============
///ScriptDocBegin
"Name: add_adjacent_zone( <zone_1>, <zone_2>, <flag>, <one_way> )"
"Summary: Sets up adjacent zones."
"MandatoryArg: <zone_1>: Name of first Info_Volume"
"MandatoryArg: <zone_2>: Name of second Info_Volume"
"MandatoryArg: <flag>: Flag to be set to initiate zones"
"OptionalArg: <one_way>: Make <zone_1> adjacent to <zone_2>. Defaults to false."
"Example: add_adjacent_zone( "receiver_zone", "outside_east_zone", "enter_outside_east" );"
///ScriptDocEnd
=============
*/

// Outside East Door
//add_adjacent_zone( "receiver_zone", "outside_east_zone", "enter_outside_east" );
}

WinCat

  • Founder
  • ***
  • Posts: 1094
  • Karma: 86
    • View Profile
    • My Site
Re: Risers?
« Reply #11 on: October 09, 2014, 09:11:46 PM »
Doors would connect to spawners in 1.1, but when using zones they don't.

The zones target the spawners.

Then the door trigger just has a kvp to activate the zone, the door dose not target any spawners.
Lol, I've been doing this all wrong. :-[
My map is good size but once I get this wright I'll be able to make it all work. Now I'm understanding more. I guess the person that was helping me was telling me the old way. WOW!

Looks at what nukem posted, it's correct.

joshs1982

  • Infected
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Risers?
« Reply #12 on: October 09, 2014, 09:12:58 PM »
This is the correct set up
Thanks Nukem.

WinCat

  • Founder
  • ***
  • Posts: 1094
  • Karma: 86
    • View Profile
    • My Site
Re: Risers?
« Reply #13 on: October 09, 2014, 09:14:38 PM »
Make the stairwell leaving from zone1, zone8 and make the stairwell leaving zone4, zone7. Now that we have changed that, do you think this code is looking good, or am I lost again?

Here's the code I'm working on below.

Code: [Select]
dlc3_zone_init()
{

add_adjacent_zone( "start_zone", "zone1", "enter_zone1" );
add_adjacent_zone( "start_zone", "zone4", "enter_zone4" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone2", "enter_zone2" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone3", "enter_zone3" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone6", "enter_zone6" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone8", "enter_zone8" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone2", "zone3", "enter_zone3" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone3", "zone2", "enter_zone2" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone4", "zone5", "enter_zone5" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone4", "zone7", "enter_zone7" );
/*
=============
///ScriptDocBegin
"Name: add_adjacent_zone( <zone_1>, <zone_2>, <flag>, <one_way> )"
"Summary: Sets up adjacent zones."
"MandatoryArg: <zone_1>: Name of first Info_Volume"
"MandatoryArg: <zone_2>: Name of second Info_Volume"
"MandatoryArg: <flag>: Flag to be set to initiate zones"
"OptionalArg: <one_way>: Make <zone_1> adjacent to <zone_2>. Defaults to false."
"Example: add_adjacent_zone( "receiver_zone", "outside_east_zone", "enter_outside_east" );"
///ScriptDocEnd
=============
*/

// Outside East Door
//add_adjacent_zone( "receiver_zone", "outside_east_zone", "enter_outside_east" );
}

yer that's the right idea, but you should have different enter flags for say:

Code: [Select]
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone2", "enter_zone2" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone3", "zone2", "enter_zone2" );

joshs1982

  • Infected
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Risers?
« Reply #14 on: October 09, 2014, 09:23:12 PM »

yer that's the right idea, but you should have different enter flags for say:

Code: [Select]
add_adjacent_zone( "zone1", "zone2", "enter_zone2" );
add_adjacent_zone( "zone3", "zone2", "enter_zone2" );
I'm confused. What would I change it to?
Is it because I have more than 1 line with "enter_zone2" ?
« Last Edit: October 09, 2014, 09:42:22 PM by joshs1982 »