July 18, 2018, 01:53:01 AM

Author Topic: Having trouble installing Toms Tanim Maya Plugins  (Read 82094 times)

ItalianMilkMan

  • Fresh Meat
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Having trouble installing Toms Tanim Maya Plugins
« on: November 12, 2016, 01:30:02 AM »
So ive completed all the steps in the ReadME folder, except on the last step:

// -------------------- Step 3 --------------------

Load the plugin via the plugin manger inside maya.


"Window >>---> Settings/Prefrences >>---> Plugn manger"

//--------------------------------------------------------

When I check the Autoload box, and restart Maya, the Autoload box will be unchecked. Ive tried a lot but no matter what, The autoload box is always unchecked the next time I open maya. And it dosnt seem like you can load the plugin after opening maya, you must close maya then restart. This is doing my head in so any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks everyone!

R00feR

  • Hooker
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • Karma: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Having trouble installing Toms Tanim Maya Plugins
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2016, 04:19:39 AM »
C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\maya\VERSION\prefs\pluginPrefs.mel make sure your pref files aren't write protected  :P

ItalianMilkMan

  • Fresh Meat
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Having trouble installing Toms Tanim Maya Plugins
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2016, 06:33:36 AM »
C:\Users\USERNAME\Documents\maya\VERSION\prefs\pluginPrefs.mel make sure your pref files aren't write protected  :P


http://imgur.com/a/0MQza

Its not a read only file. I even tried to copy one of the lines in the file (the lines are for what plugins to autoload) and I edited the line so it would autoload the plugin I want, but as soon as I opened maya, it deleted that extra line that I created in the pluginPrefs file :/


EDIT: Not sure if this has something to do with the issue, but whenever I try to put a file into C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2016\bin\plug-ins\, it asks me for administrative permission. Picture: http://imgur.com/a/899kA

EDIT 2: Also noticed that Toms plugin has the info button greyed out for some reason. Also I was able to Autoload every single other plugin except for toms :/
http://imgur.com/a/glFzj
« Last Edit: November 12, 2016, 06:56:58 AM by ItalianMilkMan »

WinCat

  • Founder
  • ***
  • Posts: 1094
  • Karma: 86
    • View Profile
    • My Site
Re: Having trouble installing Toms Tanim Maya Plugins
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2016, 07:45:37 PM »
If you are wanting to place the plugin in C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2016\bin\plug-ins\ you will need to give admin privileges since that directory is write protected, doing so does not give the plugin admin privileges it's only required to place the file there.

The info button will be grayed out when it's not loaded, it needs to be loaded in order to ask the plugin for the info.

When you have the plugin loaded and auto load ticked, go File -> save prefrences (in maya menu), then check the maya output log for errors.


ItalianMilkMan

  • Fresh Meat
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Having trouble installing Toms Tanim Maya Plugins
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2016, 11:06:09 PM »
If you are wanting to place the plugin in C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Maya2016\bin\plug-ins\ you will need to give admin privileges since that directory is write protected, doing so does not give the plugin admin privileges it's only required to place the file there.

The info button will be grayed out when it's not loaded, it needs to be loaded in order to ask the plugin for the info.

When you have the plugin loaded and auto load ticked, go File -> save prefrences (in maya menu), then check the maya output log for errors.


Thanks for replying!
Saving preferences didn't work, I am able to tick the autoload box, but even if I save my preferences, it unticks when I next open maya.
As for the loaded box, whenever I tick it, it immediately un-ticks itself, and an error in read appears at the bottom of the screen that says: // Error: line 1: The specified module could not be found.    (Tom_xAnim_2016_64)

Here's an image: http://imgur.com/a/fVRVl

No matter what the loaded box will not stay ticked, it always immediately un-ticks itself, and when it un-ticks itself, is when that error appears at the bottom of the screen.

Also I kept my eyes on the output log, and no errors appeared there at all.

Thank you! :)

WinCat

  • Founder
  • ***
  • Posts: 1094
  • Karma: 86
    • View Profile
    • My Site
Re: Having trouble installing Toms Tanim Maya Plugins
« Reply #5 on: November 17, 2016, 10:53:36 PM »
Potentially it's a c++ runtime dependency issue.

Install the x64 bit version: https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=48145

ItalianMilkMan

  • Fresh Meat
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Having trouble installing Toms Tanim Maya Plugins
« Reply #6 on: November 25, 2016, 11:19:13 AM »
Potentially it's a c++ runtime dependency issue.

Install the x64 bit version: https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=48145


Thank you! This fixed all my issues! Thanks so much!

dr peelz

  • Fresh Meat
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Having trouble installing Toms Tanim Maya Plugins
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2017, 08:45:56 PM »
Potentially it's a c++ runtime dependency issue.

Install the x64 bit version: https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=48145


It didn't work for me :-[ is there any other solution?

WinCat

  • Founder
  • ***
  • Posts: 1094
  • Karma: 86
    • View Profile
    • My Site
Re: Having trouble installing Toms Tanim Maya Plugins
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2017, 11:35:00 AM »
Potentially it's a c++ runtime dependency issue.

Install the x64 bit version: https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=48145


It didn't work for me :-[ is there any other solution?


Do you have the same issue with it unloading itself?

Are you loading the plugin into correct version of maya?

joshs1982

  • Infected
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Having trouble installing Toms Tanim Maya Plugins
« Reply #9 on: May 08, 2018, 03:40:04 AM »
Tom ive tried all of the above and still nothing, do you have any suggestions? This is what error i get.

// Error: The specified module could not be found.
 (Tom_xAnim_8.5) //
// Error: Unable to dynamically load : C:/Program Files (x86)/Activision/Call of Duty - World at War/bin/maya/Maya8_Plugins/Tom_xAnim_8.5.mll
The specified module could not be found.